Jerome’s Mine MuseumJerome’s Mine Museum was opened in the early 1950s and was refurbished in 2007. After prohibition, the building became, first, a drugstore and later a dry goods store and a five-and-dime. In 1953 Jerome’s Historical Society turned it into a museum, which has been showcasing Jerome’s history ever since.
The compact museum with its beautiful hammered tin ceiling covers a lot of ground—from gambling and the red light district to education, mining, commerce, medicine, the history of Chinese in Jerome, the arts—even El Barrio Chicano, the city’s Mexican town. Although its focus is on Jerome’s early history, it also encompasses more recent events.
Visitors will enjoy the period photographs, paintings and historic artifacts, including a turn-of-the-century towel warmer from Jerome’s Barber Shop, a wiremesh medical stretcher, a high school scrapbook with solid copper covers, the Colt pistol Marshal Johnny Hudgens used to gun down three vigilantes on Main Street, historic fire department uniforms and, of course, a simulated mine shaft, with carbide lamps, helmets, a bell-ringing system and glowing rocks.
Things to know before you go:The museum is open 7 days a week from 9:00 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Admission is $2 for adults and $1 for Seniors
children under 12 are free
For more information call: (928) 634-5477 or visit http://jeromehistoricalsociety.com/mine-museum/